Award winners announced

The winners of our 2018 awards have been unveiled. The filmmakers behind My Friend Michael Jones were the big winners on the night, taking home three awards – Toi Whakaari Best Actor (Villa Junior Lemanu), Final Draft Best Screenplay and the Oscar-accredited Department of Post Best NZ Film award.  

The jury members commented, “A truly phenomenal cast and powerful performances by all. What an uplifting story with an important message about acceptance. So relevant and a must see for all young people.” 

Summer Agnew took home the DEGNZ Best Director award for The Brother. His cinematographer Ian McCarroll was also awarded the Panavision Best Cinematographer prize.  

The judges said, “This is a truly epic tale that is creatively told through beautiful imagery. I could really feel the tension between the brothers mounting as the story unfolded – even with very little dialogue. The shots of the vast landscapes and wilderness were truly breath-taking. 

 In awarding their NZFC Special Jury Prize to Simeon Duncombe for the production design on Toilet, the jury said, “What a powerful social commentary on restroom etiquette, told in a comedic, yet dramatic wayRemarkably done, creatively shot and well-staged. 

 The SAE Best International Film award went to UK short Wren Boys by Sorcha Bacon and Harry Lighton. This film, along with My Friend Michael Jones is now eligible to enter the 2020 Academy Awards. 

 Here’s the full list of winners: 

  1. Panavision Best Cinematographer: Ian McCarroll for The Brother 
  2. Toi Whakaari Best Actor: Villa Junior Lemanu for My Friend Michael Jones 
  3. Final Draft Best Screenplay: Eldon Booth, Ian Leaupepe & Samson Rambo for My Friend Michael Jones 
  4. NZ on Air Best Music Video: Alexander Gandar & Kate Moses for Laugh it Off – Chelsea Jade 
  5. DEGNZ Best Editor: Betsy Bauer for Cleaver 
  6. DEGNZ Best Director: Summer Agnew for The Brother 
  7. NZFC Special Jury Prize: Simeon Duncombe for Production Design of Toilet 
  8. SAE Best International Film: Sorcha Bacon & Harry Lighton for Wren Boys (UK) 
  9. Department of Post Best NZ Film: Alex Lovell, Eldon Booth, Ian Leaupepe & Samson Rambo for My Friend Michael Jones 

Audience members can now vote for the Calibrate Legal / Patrick McGrath Barrister People’s Choice Award on our website or by completing our survey form at cinemas. The winner of this final award will be announced after the festival. 

The jury members for the 2018 Show Me Shorts awards included: actor/comedian Rhys Darby; broadcaster Carol Hirschfield; filmmaker Phil Brough; Film Producer from Sesame Workshop, Kimberley Wright; programmer Opal H. Bennett (Aspen ShortsFest, Athena, Nantucket, Tribeca, etc.); and Andrew Cornwell, former head of Sony Pictures NZ.