Previous Winners

We love all of the films that make it into our programme each year but we also want to recognize those that stand out. Whether it is excellence in a particular category like directing and acting or outstanding overall achievement as exemplified by our Best NZ Film and Best International Film winners, these films all present something special. Since 2012, our Best NZ Film winner has been eligible for the Academy Awards®, giving Kiwi short film makers a shot at an Oscar®. Since 2017 the Best International Film award category has also contained the honour of qualification for the Oscars®.

Award Winners 2017

Category Person or Team Film
NZ On Air Best Music Video THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures Turtles – LarzRanda
NZFC Best Student Film Amberley Jo Aumua Waiting
Panavision Best Cinematographer Andrew McGeorge Do No Harm
Toi Whakaari Best Actor Marion Prebble Baby?
Final Draft Best Screenplay Lauren Porteous Motel
DEGNZ Best Editor Tom Eagles Do No Harm
DEGNZ Best Director Zoe McIntosh The World in Your Window
Showtools Special Jury Prize Tim Wong Do No Harm (Stunt Coordination)
Best International Film Peter Ghesquiere, Hendrik Verthe, Kobe Van Steenberghe & Frank Van Passel Downside Up
Best New Zealand Film Phil Brough, Matt Heath & Orlando Stewart Fire in Cardboard City


Award Winners 2016

Category Person or Team Film
Lightbox Best Film Georgiana Plaister & Ned Wenlock Spring Jam
Final Draft Best Screenplay Hugh Calveley Cradle
DEGNZ Best Editor Bryan Shaw Shout at the Ground
StarNow Best Actor Katlyn Wong Wait
Best International Film Tim Ellrich Tim Ellrich, Die Badewanne (The Bathtub)
DEGNZ Best Director Ned Wenlock Spring Jam
Panavision Best Cinematographer Simon Baumfield Feeder
NZFC Special Jury Prize Yamin Tun Wait
Best Music Video THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures Breathe by Sheep, Dog & Wolf
People’s Choice Award James Cunningham and Oliver Hilbert Kitten Witch


Award Winners 2015

Category Person or Team Film
Lightbox Best Film Alyx Duncan The Tide Keeper
Final Draft Best Screenplay Ryan Heron & Guy Montgomery Return
DEGNZ Best Editor James Cunningham Accidents, Blunders and Calamities
StarNow Best Actor Tina Cleary Cub
Best International Film Jonathan Stein Out of the Village
DEGNZ Best Director Alyx Duncan The Tide Keeper
Panavision Best Cinematographer Chris Pryor & Ben Montgomery The Tide Keeper
NZFC Special Jury Prize Mhairead Connor UFO
Best Music Video THUNDERLIPS Emily by The Eversons
Best Student Film Kyan Krumdieck & Annabelle Dick The Grind
People’s Choice Award James Cunningham & Oliver Hilbert Accidents, Blunders and Calamities


Award Winners 2014

Category Person or Team Film
Show Me Shorts Best Film Julia Parnell and Matthew Saville Dive
Best International Film Marcel Barelli Vigia (Lookout)
DEGNZ Best Director Hamish Bennett Ross & Beth
StarNow Best Actor Jackie van Beek Uphill
Final Draft Best Screenplay Matthew Saville Dive
Panavision Best Cinematographer Ginny Loane Helmut Makes a Quilt
Best Editor Annie Collins Eleven
Best Music Video Alix Whittaker and THUNDERLIPS Glare by Sheep, Dog & Wolf
NZFC Special Jury Prize Paul Neason and Steffen Kreft Queenie
Student Film, Notable Mention: Yarden Elyashiv Bars and Tone
Wendy’s People’s Choice Award Alex Clark, Charlie Bleakley and Cohen Holloway Coconut


Award Winners 2013

Category Person or Team Film
Rush Munro’s Best Film Matt Heath, Anna Geddes, Cass Donaldson and Joe Lonie Honk If You’re Horny
Panavision Best Cinematographer John Chrisstoffels Here Be Monsters
Mexicali Fresh Best Student Film Walter Lawry Blind Mice
StarNow Best Actor Andy Anderson Honk If You’re Horny
Script to Screen & NZ Writers Guild Best Screen Play Nic Gorman Here Be Monsters
SDGNZ Best Director Joe Lonie Honk If Your Horny
SDGNZ Best Editor Thomas Gleeson Home
NZFC Special Jury Prize Thomas Gleeson Home
Best International Film Michael Rittmannsberger and Simon Baumgartner Abgestempelt (Punched)
RPM Best Colourist Jon Newell, Chris Rudkin and Erin Woolhouse Here Be Monsters
People’s Choice Award Ben Woollen and Scott Granville Serve and Protect


Award Winners 2012

Category Person or Team Film
Show Me Shorts Best Film Matt Noonan & Chelsea Winstanley Night Shift
Panavision Best Cinematographer Ari Wegner Night Shift
Best Student Film Lauren Eisinger & Katherine France Kia Kaha
StarNow Best Actor Anapela Polataivao Night Shift
Script to Screen Best Screen Play Zia Mandviwalla Night Shift
SDGNZ Best Director Sam Kelly Lambs
SDGNZ Best Editor Jeff Hurrell Lambs
Special Jury Prize Richard Mans’ technical accomplishment Abiogenesis
Best International Film Jannine Barnes The Wilding


Award Winners 2011

Category Person or Team Film
Kodak Best Film Jack Woon The Great Barrier
Panavision Best Cinematographer Nick Matthews The Kiss
Best Student Film Jonah Musitano Maurice
StarNow Best Actor Nicole Gulasekharam The Kiss
Script to Screen Best Screen Play Tammy Davis Ebony Society
SDGNZ Best Director Jack Woon The Great Barrier
SDGNZ Best Editor Lewis Albrow 3 Hours
Special Jury Prize Peter Neville, Lucas Bone & Luke Eve for the musical score Cockroach


Award Winners 2010

Category Person or Team Film
Kodak Best Film Felicity Letcher & Rachel Lorimer This is Her
Panavision Best Cinematographer Jac Fitzgerald Choice Night
Best Student Film Zyra McAuliffe Four
StarNow Best Actor Cameron Rhodes Brave Donkey
Script to Screen Best Screen Play Kate McDermott This is Her
SDGNZ Best Director Mark Albiston & Louis Sutherland The Six Dollar Fifty Man
SDGNZ Best Editor Hayley Lake Make Me
Special Jury Prize Kurt Filiga Kurt-E: In My Blood


Award Winners 2009

Category Person or Team Film
Kodak Best Film Jackie van Beek Just Like the Others
Panavision Best Cinematographer Rewa Harre Coffee & Allah
Best Student Film Michael Humphrey The Big Happiness
StarNow Best Actor Arna-Maria Winchester Mixed Bag
NZ Writer’s Guild Best Screen Play Waine C. Paris Kill the Alphabet
SDGNZ Best Director James Cunningham Poppy
SDGNZ Best Editor Paul Swadel and James Cunningham Poppy
Special Jury Prize James Cunningham, Stephen Fleet and Sonya Hsu-Ya Chang for animation Poppy


Award Winners 2008

Category Person or Team Film
Show Me Shorts Best Film Jeff & Phill Simmonds Noise Control
Best Student Film Cameron Edser Animal Instincts
Atlab Best Technical Contribution Roseanne Liang for editing Take 3
Panavision Special Jury Prize Bruno du Bois Serial Killer


Award Winners 2007

Category Person or Team Film
Show Me Shorts Best Film Jeff & Phill Simmonds A Very Nice Honeymoon
Best Student Film Chris Payne Embers
Atlab Best Technical Contribution Richard Harling for cinematography Embers
Panavision Special Jury Prize Chris Payne Embers


Award Winners 2006

Category Person or Team Film
Jameson Best Film Jannine Barnes Ray
CityMix Best Student Film Kate Bradbury and Bill Morris Mad Mac and the Fat Ugly Snail
Best Technical Contribution Suren Perera Morning Star
Panavision Special Jury Prize Skye Wansey for her acting A Special Talent