Every year Show Me Shorts recruits a new panel of highly regarded screen industry practitioners to decide the winners of our awards. They watch all of the films in advance of the festival, so that the winners can be announced and prizes presented at our Opening Night & Awards Ceremony.

Meet our jury members for 2016

Antonia Prebble

HR_AntPre_DSC7434-2Antonia has been acting professionally since she was 12. Her debut role was in 1997 playing Mandy McFarlane, one of the leads in the television series, Mirror Mirror – Series 2. This was followed by the role of Jem in William Shatner’s A Twist in the Tale. Antonia’s next project was the immensely popular series The Tribe in which she played one of the leading roles, Trudy, from 1998 until 2003.

Antonia has received a number of accolades for her work. In 2013 she was awarded Best Actress at the Women’s Institute of Film and Television Showcase in America for her work in White Lies. Also, in 2008 she was awarded Best Supporting Actress at the NZ Film and Television Awards for Outrageous Fortune, and prior to this win she had received nominations in the same category in 2006 and 2007.

In the last few years she has played leading roles in four feature films: Pork Pie, Timeslow, The Cure and White Lies –  the latter of which was selected by New Zealand as its entrant into the 2014 Academy Awards. She also took on presenting roles for the travel show My Kinda Place and the TV series that follows the journey of the contestants in the Smokefree Rockquest.

Dylan Reeve

Dylan Reeve, Director - TICKLED

Dylan knew at the age of eight that he wanted to make TV and movies but accidentally fell into a varied career in IT and the internet after high school.

Eventually he took a job redundancy as a sign and re-trained to follow his passion. For the past 13-years Dylan has been working in film and television post-production.

Dylan’s feature film debut, Tickled, co-directed with David Farrier, premiered at Sundance 2016 and was acquired by Magnolia Films and HBO. It has since screened in the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand, and received critical acclaim.


Steven O’Meagher

Steven O’Meagher is the founder and key principal of Desert Road. He is one of New Zealand’s leading film and television producers with a reputation for high-quality, premium storytelling. In production for over a decade, Desert Road has garnered many domestic film and television awards for Best Film, Best Drama, Best TV Drama, and Best Documentary. In 2013 the company was an international Emmy finalist for the leading English-language documentary in the world. Specializing in making powerful, authentic stories about iconic Kiwi characters and events, Steven and Desert Road have produced films and series about such outstanding New Zealanders as Willie Apiata (Reluctant Hero), Peter Snell and Murray Halberg (The Golden Hour), the Aramoana tragedy (Out of the Blue) and New Zealander of the Year Louise Nicholas (Consent).

Steven is a great believer that a filmmaker’s talent is not determined by who they know in the industry, their age or background – but in their willingness to commit to hard work, learn from mistakes, persevere, listen to good advice and ultimately, aim for a creative boldness which refuses to accept ‘achieving the norm’ is good enough.