My Generation

Embrace your inner child with this family-friendly selection of short films, featuring some of the top animation from Aotearoa and around the world. Meet a pint-sized inventor, a fastidious reindeer, a submarine captain left high and dry, and an entrepreneurial boy starting his own business making bow ties.

Estimated total run time: 74 minutes. Most appropriate for children 8+ years. This session is also available for school-group bookings.
Rated PG.

Kitten Witch

Fantasy, 9 mins, NZ (world premiere)

Dir/Writ/Prod: James Cunningham

Prod: Oliver Hilbert

A young kitten wants to be a witch’s familiar and must pass a test or she will forever be just a simple cat. But the witch sees something in the kitten she does not expect.


Hey Deer!


Animation, 7 mins, Hungary (NZ premiere)

Dir/Writ: Örs Bárczy

Each day an adorable deer eagerly tidies his house and shovels the snow from in front of his door. Each night there is a suspicious earthquake which causes the mess and snow to fall once more.


Litterbugs

Adventure, 15 mins, UK (NZ premiere)

Dir/Writ: Peter Stanley-Ward

Writ: Natalie Conway

Prod: Nicole Carmen-Davis, Chris Musselwhite

Helped by her self-made flying mechanical creatures, a young inventor and a pint-sized superhero defeat the town bullies and find an unexpected friendship.


Perched


Animation, 10 mins, UK (NZ premiere)

Dir: Liam Harris

Writ: Nathaniel Price, Eoin Doran

Prod: Elina Litvinova

Hamish Fint is a crotchety old man used to a life of seclusion inside his submarine balanced precariously atop a mountain. He struggles to maintain equilibrium when an unwelcome visiting seagull rocks his world.


Ladi6 – Beffy

Music Video , 4 mins, NZ

Dir: Parallel Teeth

A colourful adventure following a rhythmic tale of friendship.


Mo Can Tie A Bow

Documentary, 15 mins, Germany (NZ premiere)

Dir/Writ: André Hörmann

Prod: Max Milhahn, Heike Kunze

Mo is an 11yr-old boy with big dreams. He has set up a successful small business making and selling bow-ties. He learned this craft from his grandmother Arlene.


Fulfilament


Animation, 8 mins, UK (NZ premiere)

Dir/Writ: Rhiannon Evans

Writ: Joe Murtagh

Prod: Alexandra Breede

This delightful animation follows a little lightbulb on a journey to find his place and his purpose in the world.


Spring Jam

Animation, 6 mins, NZ

Dir/Writ: Ned Wenlock

Prod: Georgiana Plaister

A young stag, lacking impressive antlers, knows he needs to improvise sweet music if he’s to have any chance during the mating season.


Screenings

Auckland CBD – Academy Cinemas

Sun 2 Oct

2:00pm
Book tickets

Mon 3 Oct

4:30pm
Book tickets

Wed 5 Oct

6:30pm
Book tickets

Sat 8 Oct

2:00pm
Book tickets

Fri 14 Oct

4:30pm
Book tickets

Devonport – The Vic

Sun 9 Oct

4:00pm
Book tickets

Pukekohe – Cinema 3 Pukekohe

Mon 24 Oct

1:30pm
Book tickets

Blenheim – Top Town Cinemas

Sat 12 Nov

12:45pm

Sun 13 Nov

12:45pm

Christchurch – Alice Cinematheque

Sat 29 Oct

1:00pm
Book tickets

Kaitaia – Te Ahu

Sat 29 Oct

2:30pm

Sun 30 Oct

12:30pm

Pahiatua – Regent Upstairs

Sat 22 Oct

2:00pm

Mon 24 Oct

2:00pm

Stewart Island – Bunkhouse Theatre

Sat 7 Jan

7:30pm

Wellington CBD – Embassy Theatre

Sat 15 Oct

4:00pm
Book tickets

Thu 20 Oct

4:00pm
Book tickets

Sun 23 Oct

4:00pm
Book tickets

Tue 25 Oct

4:00pm
Book tickets