Money Honey Still-Isaacknightswashbourn001

Award Nominees Announced 2020

We are delighted to announce the nominees for the 2020 awards at Show Me Shorts Film Festival, presented by Stuff. The winners will be announced at the Awards Night event on Sunday 4 October at Rialto Cinemas Newmarket, in Auckland.

This year – our first hybrid (in-cinema and online) festival – there are 18 short films nominated across eight award categories. Money Honey directed Isaac Knights-Washbourn and Daddy’s Girl (Kōtiro) directed by Cian Elyse White – both from New Zealand – are the most-nominated films, competing for three and four awards respectively.

The 2020 nominees are:

Department of Post Best NZ Film

  • Jarl Devine, Robyn Grace and Rory MacGillycuddy for Oranges and Lemons (NZ)
  • Tweedie Waititi and Cian Elyse White for Daddy’s Girl (Kōtiro) (NZ)
  • Lissandra Leite and Robby Peters for Money Honey (NZ)

Best International Film

  • Verona Meier, Lisa Brooke Hansen and Even Hafnor for Fun Factory (Norway)
  • Nicolas Mayer, Diego Robaldo and Manuel Tobar for Canelones (Argentina)
  • Erenik Beqiri, Olivier Berlemont, Émilie Dubois, Ermir Keta and Amantia Peza for The Van (France/Albania)
  • Sanna Kultanen and Kirsikka Saari for Super Comfort (Finland)

DEGNZ Best Director

  • Isaac Knights-Washbourn for Money Honey (NZ)
  • Hannah Marshall for Frankie Jean and the Morning Star (NZ)
  • Cian Elyse White for Daddy’s Girl (Kōtiro) (NZ)

Final Draft Best Screenplay

  • Harry McNaughton for The Trick (NZ)
  • Finnius Teppett for Democracy (NZ)
  • Kathryn Burnett and James Cunningham for Prickly Jam (NZ)

DEGNZ Best Editor

  • Dylan Pharazyn for Career by Wax Chattels (NZ)
  • Damian Golfinopoulos and Arielle Sullivan for We Rock! (NZ)
  • Annie Collins for Daddy’s Girl (Kōtiro) (NZ)

Panavision Best Cinematographer

  • Simon Baumfield for Daniel (NZ)
  • Fred Renata for Daddy’s Girl (Kōtiro) (NZ)
  • Adam Luxton for Career by Wax Chattels (NZ)

Toi Whakaari Best Actor

  • Margaret Sydenham for Hot Chocolate (NZ)
  • Akinehi Munroe for Money Honey (NZ)
  • Qiong Liu for Foods for Coping (NZ)

NZ on Air Best Music Video

  • Mikee Carpinter, Petra Cilbich, Charlotte Evans, Alexander Gandar, Chris Graham and Greg Page for Hit Me Where it Hurts by Alae
  • Vision Thing for Summer Thing by Alae
  • Emma Mortimer and Dylan Pharazyn for Career by Wax Chattels

Women have again taken out all of the nominations for the Toi Whakaari Best Actor award, with last year’s winner Margaret Sydenham making her second consecutive appearance.

Four films from European and Nordic countries are nominated for the Best International Film award: Fun Factory from Norway; Canelones from Italy; The Van from France/Albania; and Super Comfort from Finland. These are all strong films that have played at high profile festivals around the world.

Steve Newall, Editor of movie hub, enjoyed the opportunity to be part of the National Jury panel: “The calibre of this year’s Show Me Shorts selections once again showcases high levels of creativity and skill. There are many other films in this year’s programme we would have liked to acknowledge. Settling on finalists for each category proved a difficult task, reminding us of the breadth of talent on display this year – as we’ve come to expect from Show Me Shorts.”

Enrico Vannucci, Short Film Advisor for Venice Film Vestival was a member of the International Jury panel. He said: “The selection of short films at Show Me Shorts offers variety, mixing audience pleasers with more festival films, a very good mix. Choosing the finalist was hard since the overall quality is quite high, however we managed to do our job and I hope the audience will agree with our verdict. We were very happy.”

In addition to the awards listed above, audience members can vote for the SAE People’s Choice Award during the festival, by completing the survey in cinemas or at

Show Me Shorts is an Oscar-accredited film festival, meaning the winners of the top two awards, Department of Post Best New Zealand Film and Best International Film, will become qualified to enter the Academy Awards. Other prizes include $7,500 cash, $12,000 worth of camera gear rental from Panavision, $10,000 worth of post production services from Department of Post, $5,000 of gear rental from Rubber Monkey, copies of Final Draft writing software, membership to DEGNZ, flowers from Enchanted Rose, certificates and engraved bronze winners’ brooches. The total prize pool is valued at more than $50,000.

The jury panels assembled for the 2020 Show Me Shorts awards included highly regarded screen industry practitioners:

  • Short Film Advisor Enrico Vannucci from Venice Film Festival
  • Artistic Director of London Short Film Festival Philp Ilson
  • Renowned local actor David Fane
  • Editor of Steve Newall
  • Head of Marketing for the NZ Film Commission Jasmin McSweeney
  • Successful local producer Michelle Bristow
  • Award winning screenwriter Nick Ward

There are 78 short films and music videos in the 2020 programme. The films will screen at cinemas nationwide from 2 to 23 October. Full screening dates and cinema locations are available here.

The opening night event for Show Me Shorts is already sold out, but tickets to the Awards Night are available here.