Untitled (1200 x 628 px)

Announcing The 2021 Awards Nominees!

This year there are 17 short films nominated across eight award categories. Blood and Gold directed by Yamin Tun and JUNE directed by Dwayne Cameron – both from New Zealand – are the most-nominated films, competing for four and three awards respectively. We’re an Oscar-accredited film festival, meaning the winners of the top two awards, Department of Post Best New Zealand Film and Best International Film, will become qualified to enter the Academy Awards®.

The 2021 nominees are: 

Department of Post Best NZ Film

  • Bree Greally, Lily Martin-Babin for Miro Wine (NZ)
  • Kaitiaki Rodger and Cameron Broadhurst for Matua (NZ)
  • Lissandra Leite and Isaac Bell for Space Invader (NZ)

Best International Film

  • Alies Sluiter, Meng Xiong, Federica Belletti, William Littleton for Ayaan (Australia)
  • Alireza Ghasemi, Raha Amirfazli for Solar Eclipse (France)
  • Linhan Zhang and Clifford MiuPeza for The Last Ferry from Grass Island (USA)

DEGNZ Best Director

  • Isaac Bell for Space Invader (NZ)
  • Kaitiaki Rodger for Matua (NZ)
  • Dwayne Cameron for JUNE (NZ)

Final Draft Best Screenplay

  • Sam Gill for Fetch (NZ)
  • Celia Jaspers for Milk (NZ)
  • James Solomon for A Hole (NZ)

DEGNZ Best Editor

  • Peter Roberts and Dwayne Cameron for JUNE (NZ)
  • Brendon Chan for Blood and Gold (NZ)
  • Joseph Grigg for Blue Lake (NZ)

Panavision Best Cinematographer

  • Kieran Fowler for Giants (Australia)
  • Ryan Alexander Lloyd for Blood and Gold (NZ)
  • Dave Garbett for A Hole (NZ)

Toi Whakaari Best Actor

  • Jodie Hillock for Blood and Gold (NZ)
  • Joyena Sun for Blood and Gold (NZ)
  • Sarah James for JUNE (NZ)

NZ on Air Best Music Video

  • Logan Marshall for New Day – Gino October
  • Ezra Simons and Gussie Larkin and Caleb Corlett for Landline – The Phoenix Foundation
  • Vision Thing for Strangers – Ha, The Unclear

We received an incredible amount of short film submissions for this year’s festival which made the job of awarding a select few that more difficult. The winners will be announced at our awards night on Sunday 17 October at Rialto Cinemas Newmarket. Tickets will go on sale soon, pending a shift to Level 2.