1. Ayaan Still profile

2021 Award Winners

The winners of the Show Me Shorts awards were unveiled at our live-streamed awards night recently.
Eight awards were given out to the creators behind eight fantastic short films.

A four-minute, 3D-animated film by first-time, student filmmakers from Wellington is now qualified to enter the Academy Awards® after winning the Department of Post Best New Zealand Film Award. Miro Wine – about a grumpy, jaded kererū and a persistent, naive pīwakawaka – was one of the 74 programmed films in 2021 festival, selected from over 1600 entries from across the world.

The New Zealand judging panel, which comprised film industry luminaries – Festival Director Bronwyn Kidd from Australia’s Flickerfest, Award-winning writer Briar Grace-Smith and entertainment reporter and critic Dominic Corry – were unanimous on the Department of Post Best New Zealand Film decision.

They commented: “Miro Wine is the poignant and funny story of the loyal friendship between an unlikely couple, a kererū and a pīwakawaka. The jury members were moved and warmed by the simplicity of the story, the well-drawn characters and the stunning animation.  The visual story-telling seems to unfold effortlessly, and this is a huge credit to the filmmakers – as there is no doubt of the time, dedication and talent required to make the film the success that it is. ”

A separate international judging panel comprising Festival Director Per Fikse from Norway’s Minimalen Film Festival, writer Victor Rodger and performer/songwriter Ladi6, awarded Australian refuge drama Ayaan the coveted Best International Film Award.  Ayaan is now also eligible to enter the Oscars®.

Judge Victor Rodger commented: ” … a film full of tension and suspense about one woman’s quest for refuge in a foreign and uncertain environment.  The jury was moved by the almost wordless central performance by Babetidja Sadjo which  anchors the film, and completely engaged by the film’s timely exploration of the plight of asylum seekers within an Australian context.” 

Here’s the full list of winners from the 2021 Show Me Shorts Film Festival Awards Night:

NZ on Air Best Music Video – Logan Marshall for Gino October – New Day

Toi Whakaari Best Actor – Jodie Hillock for Blood and Gold

DEGANZ Best Editor – Peter Roberts and Dwayne Cameron for June

Panavision Best Cinematographer – Kieran Fowler for Giants

Final Draft Best Screenplay – Sam Gill for Fetch

DEGANZ Best Director – Isaac Bell for Space Invader

Department of Post Best New Zealand Film – Bree Greally, Lily Martin-Babin for Miro Wine

Best International Film – Alies Sluiter, Meng Xiong, Federica Belletti, William Littleton for Ayaan (Australia)

Congratulations to all!

As Show Me Shorts is an Academy Awards®-qualifying festival, the top two films – Best New Zealand Film and Best International Film – are now qualified to enter the Oscars®. Other prizes include $7,500 cash, $12,000 worth of camera gear rental from Panavision, $10,000 worth of post-production services from Department of Post, $5,000 of gear rental from Rubber Monkey, copies of Final Draft writing software, membership to DEGANZ, flowers from Enchanted Rose, certificates and engraved bronze winners’ brooches. The total prize pool is valued at more than $50,000.