FICC Feb 14 v002 (0-05-02-22)

2017 Award Winners Announced

A huge congratulations to all of our 2017 winners for the 12th annual Show Me Shorts Film Festival. They’ve just been announced at the Opening Night and Awards Ceremony at The Civic in Auckland.

The prestigious Best New Zealand Film award was presented to Phil Brough, Matt Heath and Orlando Stewart for their animated comedy Fire in Cardboard City. A Belgian short film set in a world where everyone has Down Syndrome, Downside Up, received the Best International Film award. Show Me Shorts is an Oscar-accredited film festival, so both Fire in Cardboard City and Downside Up now qualify for entry to the Academy Awards ®.

The members of this year’s jury included screen industry practitioners: Miriama Kamo, Rachel House, Ian McCarroll, Yamin Tun and Mélissa Bouchard. They thanked Show Me Shorts and the filmmakers for:

“the privilege of seeing these fantastic, sometimes gobsmackingly brilliant, short films.”

Eight films won the ten Show Me Shorts awards. New Zealand director Roseanne Liang’s Do No Harm walked away with three awards: Panavision Best Cinematographer, DEGNZ Best Editor and the Showtools Special Jury Prize for stunt coordination. Liang’s short is the ‘proof of concept’ for a feature film she is currently developing, set in the same world.

The World in Your Window by writer/director Zoe McIntosh was awarded the DEGNZ Best Director prize. The judges called the short:

“A compelling film with well-nuanced intimate performances that take this beautifully told story to a level seldom seen in short format cinema.”

Local directing duo THUNDERLIPS, in association with Candlelit Pictures, won the NZ On Air Best Music Video award for the fourth year running with Turtles, by Kiwi rapper LarzRanda. First time filmmaker Lauren Porteous received the Final Draft Best Screenplay award for Motel. The judges commended:

“A pared back screenplay of incredible subtlety and maturity from a talented voice.” 

Actress Marion Prebble received the Toi Whakaari Best Actor prize for Baby?, which she also co-wrote and co-produced. Jury members were impressed by what they called:

“A powerful performance with full commitment to a challenging role. Her unswerving focus made Baby? riveting to watch.”

Audience members can vote for their favourite short film to win the WatchMe People’s Choice Award during the festival, by completing the survey on our website. The winner will be announced in early December.


Category Person or Team Film
NZ On Air Best Music Video THUNDERLIPS & Candlelit Pictures Turtles – LarzRanda
NZFC Best Student Film Amberley Jo Aumua Waiting
Panavision Best Cinematographer Andrew McGeorge Do No Harm
Toi Whakaari Best Actor Marion Prebble Baby?
Final Draft Best Screenplay Lauren Porteous Motel
DEGNZ Best Editor Tom Eagles Do No Harm
DEGNZ Best Director Zoe McIntosh The World in Your Window
Showtools Special Jury Prize Tim Wong Do No Harm (Stunt Coordination)
Best International Film Peter Ghesquiere, Hendrik Verthe, Kobe Van Steenberghe & Frank Van Passel Downside Up
Best New Zealand Film Phil Brough, Matt Heath & Orlando Stewart Fire in Cardboard City


Congratulations, again, to all the winners and all the other filmmakers whose films have been selected for our 2017 Show Me Shorts Film Festival programme.

There are 55 short films in the Show Me Shorts Film Festival programme. The films will screen at 26 cinemas nationwide from Kaitaia to Stewart Island. Screening dates and locations for Show Me Shorts are available here.